, pub-4306389101329233, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
top of page
Kaal Bhairav

Astha Pradhan Bhairav

After Goddess killed the evil demon Durgasur (Kindly refer Durga Devi), she created  nine shaktis which were stationed in various places in Kashi to protect the holy city and its denizens. (Kashi Khand, Chapter 72).In the same way eight forms of Bhairavs were created who were positioned at various places in Kashi.  These Bhairavs protect the devotees from all sorts of evils and give the devotees happiness and prosperity in their lives.Devotees who worship these Bhairavs will develop a strong mental frame work and will be courageous.

[Ashta Bhairavas ("Eight Bhairavas") are eight manifestations of the Hindu god Bhairava, a ferocious aspect of the god Shiva. They guard and control the eight directions. Each Bhairava has seven sub Bhairavas under him. All of the Bhairavas are ruled and controlled by Maha Kala Bhairava (shown in picture), who is considered the supreme ruler of time of the universe and the chief form of Bhairava.

Listed below are the Ashta Bhairava, along with their ruling goddesses, their vahana (mount), and the direction each guards. Also given are their lucky stones, and the consecrated temples in Tamil Nadu, India, where people born on the listed nakshatras get the Ashta Bhairava’s favours and Dosha Nivritti (remedies for problems).]

[For Visiting the Temple's, Performing Ritual or any Help Contact Us.]

Kaal Bhairav

​Kashi Ke Kotwal

In ancient times, high atop Sumeru Mountain, a group of wise sages sought to discover the indestructible and supreme being. When questioned, Lord Brahma boldly declared himself as the superior entity. However, Yagyeshwar, symbolizing Narayan, rebuked Brahma for his hasty claim.

To resolve the dispute, both approached the four Vedas for insight. Rig Veda identified the omnipotent deity Rudra as supreme, while Yajur Veda asserted that the one worshiped through rituals, Shiva, held supremacy. Sam Veda pointed to the revered Triambakam, and Atharva Veda proclaimed that the deity removing human worries was none other than Shankar. In essence, all four Vedas concurred that Lord Shiva was the ultimate being.

In disbelief, Brahma and Yagya Narayan laughed until Lord Shiva manifested as a radiant light. Brahma, with his fifth head, glared furiously. Shiva then created a being, Kaal Bhairav, declared him the ruler of time (Kaal), and stationed him in Kashi to absolve devotees' sins.

Brahma's burning fifth head was plucked by Kaal Bhairav, prompting praises for Lord Shiva. Shiva, concerned about the affliction of Brahma Hatya Dosh, created a fierce female figure named Brahma Hatya to follow Kaal Bhairav. Despite traversing the world, bathing in Teerths, and worshiping deities, Kaal Bhairav could not escape Brahma Hatya.

Upon reaching Kashi, Brahma Hatya intensified its cries and eventually vanished into the netherworld. The severed head of Brahma fell at Kapal Mochan, establishing a Teerth named after it. Kaal Bhairav, now permanently stationed in Kashi, became the protector of his devotees, urging all in the sacred city to worship and seek refuge in him.

bottom of page